People

TA Office Hours

Held weekly in the senior design lab (ECEB 2070/2072).
Name Time
Zipeng "Bird" Wang Monday 11am-12pm
Kexin Hui Monday 2pm-3pm
Eric Clark Monday 3pm-4pm
Vignesh Sridhar Tuesday 11am-12pm
Jackson Lenz Tuesday 2pm-3pm
Michael Fatina Tuesday 3pm-4pm
Dongwei Shi Wednesday 10am-11am
Yuchen He Wednesday 11am-12pm
Jacob Bryan Wednesday 2pm-3pm
Luke Wendt Wednesday 3pm-4pm
John Capozzo Thursday 10am-11am
Jose Sanchez Vicarte Thursday 11am-12pm
Daniel Frei Thursday 3:15pm-4:15pm
James Norton Friday 10am-11am
Sam Sagan Friday 11am-12pm
Daniel Gardner Friday 2pm-3pm

Summer 2017 Instructors

Name Area
Prof. Scott Carney (Instructor)
4061 Beckman
carney@illinois.edu
physics, optics, human potential, leveraging synergies of our core competencies, visioning new verbs
Prof. Arne Fliflet (Instructor)
3056
afliflet@illinois.edu
microwave generation and applications
Prof. Seth Hutchinson (Instructor)

seth@illinois.edu
Prof. Michael Oelze (Instructor)
ECEB 2056
oelze@illinois.edu
Biomedical Imaging, Acoustics, Nondestructive Testing
Prof. Karl Reinhard (Instructor)

reinhrd2@illinois.edu
Jacob Bryan (TA)
3038 ECEB
jdbryan2@illinois.edu
Speech signal processing, DSP, control systems, machine learning, optimization
John Capozzo (TA)
1538 Beckman
capozzo2@illinois.edu
I specialize in Infomation Communication systems and pipelines. Proficient in: Time Series Analysis, HPC, Machine Learning, Exploratory Data Analysis, Data Reliability & Reproducibility, Statistics, Modeling Biological Data
Eric Clark (TA)

ejclark2@illinois.edu
Computer Architecture, IC Design, FPGA, Embedded Systems, Distributed Systems and Networks
Daniel Frei (TA)

dfrei2@illinois.edu
Security, Networks
Daniel Gardner (TA)

dgardne2@illinois.edu
RF, wireless communications, circuits, PCB design, embedded systems
Yuchen He (TA)
ECEB 3038
he33@illinois.edu
Robotics, Machine Learning, Computer Vision, Natural Language Processing, Control Systems
Kexin Hui (TA)

khui3@illinois.edu
Digital/Analog IC Design
Jackson Lenz (TA)

jdlenz2@illinois.edu
Electric Machines/Drives, Power Electronics, Batteries
James Norton (TA)
139 Coordinated Science Laboratory
jnorton4@illinois.edu
Physiological Monitoring (EEG, EMG, etc.), Digital Signal Processing, Cognitive Neuroscience
Sam Sagan (TA)
425 CSL
ssagan2@illinois.edu
Electrostatic Discharge, RF, Machine Learning, Audio, Embedded Systems, Electromechanical Systems
Jose Sanchez Vicarte (TA)
ECE3038
josers2@illinois.edu
Computer Architecture, Machine Learning, Embedded Systems, Linux
Vignesh Sridhar (TA)

vsridha2@illinois.edu
Sensor Fusion, Virtual Reality, Economic Forecasting
Zipeng Wang (TA)
206H Talbot
zwang87@illinois.edu
Atmospheric Remote Sensing, CubeSat, Analog Computing, Evolving Hardware, Satellite Attitude Determination and Control.
Luke Wendt (TA)

wendt1@illinois.edu
[http://luke-a-wendt.info] Adaptive Control, Robotics, Computer Vision, Machine Learning, Optimization

Other Important People

Name Office Phone Email Area
Scott McDonald 1049 ECE Building samcdona@illinois.edu Machine Shop
Mark Smart 1041 ECE Building mwsmart@illinois.edu Electronics Services Shop
Casey Smith 3064 ECE Building cjsmith0@illinois.edu Instructional Lab Coordinator
Waltham Smith 1041 ECE Building wlsmith@illinois.edu Electronic Services Shop
Skot Wiedmann 1041 ECE Building swiedma2@illinois.edu Electronic Services Shop
Prof. Scott Carney 4061 Beckman Institute carney@illinois.edu Course Director

S.I.P. (Smart Irrigation Project)

Jackson Lenz, James McMahon

S.I.P. (Smart Irrigation Project)

Featured Project

Jackson Lenz

James McMahon

Our project is to be a reliable, robust, and intelligent irrigation controller for use in areas where reliable weather prediction, water supply, and power supply are not found.

Upon completion of the project, our device will be able to determine the moisture level of the soil, the water level in a water tank, and the temperature, humidity, insolation, and barometric pressure of the environment. It will perform some processing on the observed environmental factors to determine if rain can be expected soon, Comparing this knowledge to the dampness of the soil and the amount of water in reserves will either trigger a command to begin irrigation or maintain a command to not irrigate the fields. This device will allow farmers to make much more efficient use of precious water and also avoid dehydrating crops to death.

In developing nations, power is also of concern because it is not as readily available as power here in the United States. For that reason, our device will incorporate several amp-hours of energy storage in the form of rechargeable, maintenance-free, lead acid batteries. These batteries will charge while power is available from the grid and discharge when power is no longer available. This will allow for uninterrupted control of irrigation. When power is available from the grid, our device will be powered by the grid. At other times, the batteries will supply the required power.

The project is titled S.I.P. because it will reduce water wasted and will be very power efficient (by extremely conservative estimates, able to run for 70 hours without input from the grid), thus sipping on both power and water.

We welcome all questions and comments regarding our project in its current form.

Thank you all very much for you time and consideration!