People

TA Office Hours

Held weekly in the senior design lab (ECEB 2070/2072).
Name Time
Xinrui Zhu Monday 12pm-1pm
Nick Ratajczyk Monday 2pm-3pm
Mickey Zhang Monday 3pm-4pm
Dongwei Shi Tuesday 1pm-2pm
Jacob Bryan Tuesday 2pm-3pm
Zipeng "Bird" Wang Wednesday 12pm-1pm
Tony Caton Wednesday 2pm-3pm
Bryce Smith Wednesday 3pm-4pm
Yuchen He Thursday 12pm-1pm
Kexin Hui Thursday 2pm-3pm
Zhen Qin Thursday 3pm-4pm
Channing Philbrick Friday 12pm-1pm
Hershel Dave-Rege Friday 1pm-2pm
Yamuna Phal Friday 2pm-3pm

Spring 2018 Instructors

Name Area
Prof. Xiaogang Chen (Instructor)

oxgchen@illinois.edu
Prof. Arne Fliflet (Instructor)
3056
afliflet@illinois.edu
microwave generation and applications
Prof. Rakesh Kumar (Instructor)

rakeshk@illinois.edu
Prof. Michael Oelze (Instructor)
ECEB 2056
oelze@illinois.edu
Biomedical Imaging, Acoustics, Nondestructive Testing
Jacob Bryan (TA)
3038 ECEB
jdbryan2@illinois.edu
Speech signal processing, DSP, control systems, machine learning, optimization
Anthony Caton (TA)
5068 ECEB
caton2@illinois.edu
Remote Sensing, Lidar, Optics, Upper Atmospheric Research/Space Science
Yuchen He TA (TA)
ECEB 3038
he33@illinois.edu
Robotics, Machine Learning, Computer Vision, Natural Language Processing, Control Systems
Kexin Hui (TA)

khui3@illinois.edu
Computer Vision, Machine Learning
Yamuna Phal (TA)
5065
yphal2@illinois.edu
Remote Sensing & Space Sciences, Analog/RF circuit design, Instrumentation
Channing Philbrick (TA)
ECEB 5068
phlbrck2@illinois.edu
Atmospheric Remote Sensing, Image Processing, CubeSat design, Systems Engineering
Zhen Qin (TA)

zhenqin3@illinois.edu
Audio, Signal Processing, Machine Learning, Power Circuits
Nicholas Ratajczyk (TA)

ratajcz2@illinois.edu
RF Circuits, Communication, and Remote Sensing
Hershel Rege (TA)

davereg2@illinois.edu
Secure Computing Systems, Computer Architecture, Big Data
Dongwei Shi (TA)

dshi9@illinois.edu
Computer Vision, Parallel Computing, Robotics
Bryce Smith (TA)

bsmith53@illinois.edu
Power Systems, Semiconductor Devices, Renewable Energy Sources
Zipeng Wang (TA)
206H Talbot
zwang87@illinois.edu
Atmospheric Remote Sensing, CubeSat, Analog Computing, Evolving Hardware, Satellite Attitude Determination and Control.
Mickey Zhang (TA)

rzhang56@illinois.edu
Embedded Systems, Data processing, Software engineering, ML
Xinrui Zhu (TA)

xzhu40@illinois.edu

Other Important People

Name Office Phone Email Area
Scott McDonald 1049 ECE Building samcdona@illinois.edu Machine Shop
Mark Smart 1041 ECE Building mwsmart@illinois.edu Electronics Services Shop
Casey Smith 3064 ECE Building cjsmith0@illinois.edu Instructional Lab Coordinator
Waltham Smith 1041 ECE Building wlsmith@illinois.edu Electronic Services Shop
Skot Wiedmann 1041 ECE Building swiedma2@illinois.edu Electronic Services Shop

Pocket Pedal - A Bluetooth Controlled Effects Box

Kaan Erel, Alexander Van Dorn, Jacob Waterman

Pocket Pedal - A Bluetooth Controlled Effects Box

Featured Project

Our idea is to make an inexpensive alternative to traditional pedal powered guitar effects boxes. Essentially, we hope to implement a single aftermarket effects box that can be remote controlled via a mobile app. This low-power, Bluetooth connected application can control the box to change effects on the go. The hardware within the effects box will be able to alter the guitar's signals to create different sounds like echoing, looping, and distortion effects (and possibly more). These effects will be implemented using analog circuits that we will design and construct to be controlled by an app on your phone.

This project eliminates the expensive buy-in for a guitarist hoping to sound like any number of famous musicians with multiple effects pedals. On top of this, it also aims to get rid of the clutter that comes with the numerous pedals and boxes connected to an amplifier. Many pedals today don't even have a visual interface to select effects through some sort of menu. The app will also provide a much more handy and portable visual representation of the possible effects all from the phone in your pocket!

Team:

Jacob Waterman jwaterm2

Kaan Erel erel2

Alex Van Dorn vandorn2