People

TA Office Hours

Held weekly in the senior design lab (ECEB 2070/2072).
Name Time
Channing Philbrick Monday 1pm-2pm
Tony Caton Monday 2pm-3pm
Christopher Horn Monday 3pm-4pm
Amr Martini Tuesday 1pm-2pm
Mengze Sha Tuesday 2pm-3pm
Kyle Michal Wednesday 11am-12pm
Soumithri Bala Wednesday 12pm-1pm
Dongwei Shi Wednesday 1pm-2pm
John Kan Wednesday 3pm-4pm
Thomas Furlong Thursday 10am-11am
Hershel Rege Thursday 2pm-3pm
David Null Thursday 3pm-4pm
Zhen Qin Friday 12pm-1pm
David Hanley Friday 1pm-2pm
Nick Ratajczyk Friday 2pm-3pm

Spring 2019 Instructors

Name Area
Prof. Arne Fliflet (Instructor)
3056
afliflet@illinois.edu
microwave generation and applications
Prof. Jing Jiang (Instructor)
EnterpriseWorks 107
jiang56@illinois.edu
Robotics, Sensing, System Integration, Entrepreneurship
Prof. Rakesh Kumar (Instructor)

rakeshk@illinois.edu
Prof. Michael Oelze (Instructor)
ECEB 2056
oelze@illinois.edu
Biomedical Imaging, Acoustics, Nondestructive Testing
Prof. Casey Smith (Instructor)
2044 ECE Building
cjsmith0@illinois.edu
Prof. Gary Swenson (Instructor)
ECEB 5064
swenson1@illinois.edu
Atmospheric remote sensing, lidar, optical remote sensing, imaging, signal processing, atmospheric science
Soumithri Bala (TA)

bala4@illinois.edu
Anthony Caton (TA)
5068 ECEB
caton2@illinois.edu
Remote Sensing, Lidar, Optics, Upper Atmospheric Research/Space Science
Thomas Furlong (TA)

tfurlon2@illinois.edu
David Hanley (TA)
CSL 139
hanley6@illinois.edu
Controls and Robotics
Christopher Horn (TA)

chorn4@illinois.edu
Microcontrollers, computer security, low power embedded systems
John Kan (TA)

johnkan2@illinois.edu
Amr Martini (TA)

ammartn3@illinois.edu
Computer Vision, Acceleration, Machine Learning, Optics, Video Processing
Kyle Michal (TA)

michal2@illinois.edu
David Null (TA)

null2@illinois.edu
Robotics, Computer Vision, Navigation, Coordinated Systems, Control Systems.
Channing Philbrick (TA)
5029 ECEB
phlbrck2@illinois.edu
Atmospheric Remote Sensing, Image Processing, CubeSat design, Systems Engineering
Zhen Qin (TA)

zhenqin3@illinois.edu
Audio, Signal Processing, Machine Learning, Power Circuits
Nicholas Ratajczyk (TA)

ratajcz2@illinois.edu
RF Circuits, Antennas, Communication, and Remote Sensing
Hershel Rege (TA)

davereg2@illinois.edu
Embedded Systems, Wearables
Mengze Sha (TA)

msha2@illinois.edu
RF circuit and system
Dongwei Shi (TA)

dshi9@illinois.edu
Computer Vision, Parallel Computing, Robotics

Other Important People

Name Office Phone Email Area
Scott McDonald 1049 ECE Building samcdona@illinois.edu Machine Shop
Mark Smart 1041 ECE Building mwsmart@illinois.edu Electronics Services Shop
Casey Smith 3064 ECE Building cjsmith0@illinois.edu Instructional Lab Coordinator
Waltham Smith 1041 ECE Building wlsmith@illinois.edu Electronic Services Shop
Skot Wiedmann 1041 ECE Building swiedma2@illinois.edu Electronic Services Shop

Amphibious Spherical Explorer

Kaiwen Chen, Junhao Su, Zhong Tan

Amphibious Spherical Explorer

Featured Project

The amphibious spherical explorer (ASE) is a spherical robot for home monitoring, outdoor adventure or hazardous environment surveillance. Due to the unique shape of the robot, ASE can travel across land, dessert, swamp or even water by itself, or be casted by other devices (e.g. slingshot) to the mission area. ASE has a motion-sensing system based on Inertial Measurement Unit (IMU) and rotary magnetic encoder, which allows the internal controller to adjust its speed and attitude properly. The well-designed control system makes the robot free of visible wobbliness when it is taking actions like acceleration, deceleration, turning and rest. ASE is also a platform for research on control system design. The parameters of the internal controller can be assigned by an external control panel in computer based on MATLAB Graphic User Interface (GUI) which communicates with the robot via a WiFi network generated by the robot. The response of the robot can be recorded and sent back to the control panel for further analysis. This project is completely open-sourced. People who are interested in the robot can continue this project for more interesting features, such as adding camera for real-time surveillance, or controller design based on machine learning.

Project Videos