People

TA Office Hours

Held weekly in the senior design lab (ECEB 2070/2072).
Name Time
Madison Hedlund Monday 11am-12pm
Yichi Zhang Monday 12pm-1pm
Stephanie Jaster Monday 1pm-2pm
Vassily Petrov Monday 3pm-4pm
Jing Jiang Monday 3pm-4pm (ECEB 2013)
Ruhao Xia Tuesday 10am-11am
Ruomu Hao Tuesday 11am-12pm
Shuai Tang Tuesday 12pm-1pm
Dhruv Mathur Tuesday 2pm-3pm
David Null Wednesday 1pm-2pm
Chi Zhang Wednesday 3pm-4pm
Megan Roller Thursday 1pm-2pm
Johan Mufuta Thursday 2pm-3pm
Shaoyu Meng Thursday 3pm-4pm
Charles Ross Friday 10am-11am
Evan Widloski Friday 12pm-1pm
Jon Hoff Friday 2pm-3pm
Eric Liang Friday 4pm-5pm

Summer 2020 Instructors

Name Area
Prof. Arne Fliflet (Instructor)
3056
afliflet@illinois.edu
microwave generation and applications
Prof. Wei He (Instructor)

weihe16@illinois.edu
Prof. Jing Jiang (Instructor)
ECEB 1022
jiang56@illinois.edu
Bio-sensing, System Integration, Entrepreneurship, Robotics
Prof. Jianming Jin (Instructor)

j-jin1@illinois.edu
Prof. Joohyung Kim (Instructor)

joohyung@illinois.edu
Prof. Philip Krein (Instructor)
4050 ECEB (Urbana); C216 Bldg 1 (Haining)
krein@illinois.edu
Power electronics, power, motors, drives
Prof. Rakesh Kumar (Instructor)

rakeshk@illinois.edu
Prof. Michael Oelze (Instructor)
ECEB 2056
oelze@illinois.edu
Biomedical Imaging, Acoustics, Nondestructive Testing
Prof. Casey Smith (Instructor)
2044 ECE Building
cjsmith0@illinois.edu
Prof. Gary Swenson (Instructor)
ECEB 5064
swenson1@illinois.edu
Atmospheric remote sensing, lidar, optical remote sensing, imaging, signal processing, atmospheric science
Jonathan Hoff (TA)
CSL 160
jehoff2@illinois.edu
Robotics, Dynamics & Controls, Sensing & Estimation, Machine learning
Shaoyu Meng (TA)

smeng9@illinois.edu
robotics, firmware, entrepreneurship
David Null (TA)

null2@illinois.edu
Robotics, Computer Vision, Navigation, Coordinated Systems, Control Systems.
Charles Ross (TA)

cr26@illinois.edu
Evan Widloski (TA)
CSL127
evanw3@illinois.edu
linux, signal processing, robotics, power electronics

Other Important People

Name Office Phone Email Area
Scott McDonald 1049 ECE Building samcdona@illinois.edu Machine Shop
Mark Smart 1041 ECE Building mwsmart@illinois.edu Electronics Services Shop
Casey Smith 3064 ECE Building cjsmith0@illinois.edu Instructional Lab Coordinator
Waltham Smith 1041 ECE Building wlsmith@illinois.edu Electronic Services Shop
Skot Wiedmann 1041 ECE Building swiedma2@illinois.edu Electronic Services Shop

Bone Conduction Lock

Alexander Lee, Brandon Powers, Ramon Zarate

Featured Project

A lock that is unlocked using vibrations conducted through the bones in the user’s hand. The user wears a wristband containing a haptic motor. The haptic motor generates a vibration signal that acts as the "key" to the lock. When the user touches their finger to the lock, the signal is transmitted through the user’s hand and is received at the lock. If the lock receives the correct "key", then it unlocks.

Project Videos