People

TA Office Hours

Held weekly in the senior design lab (ECEB 2070/2072 ) and on Zoom (password: ece445)
Name Time
Shaoyu Meng Monday 10am-11am
Dean Biskup Monday 1pm-2pm
Sophie Liu Tuesday 10am-11am
Sowjanya Akshintala Wednesday 10am-11am
Dhruv Mathur Wednesday 1pm-2pm
David Null Wednesday 3pm-4pm
Yifan Chen Thursday 10am-11am
Anthony Schroeder Friday 10am-11am
Yichi Zhang Friday 2pm-3pm

Fall 2020 Instructors

Name Area
Prof. Arne Fliflet (Instructor)
3056
afliflet@illinois.edu
microwave generation and applications
Prof. Jing Jiang (Instructor)
ECEB 1022
jiang56@illinois.edu
Bio-sensing, System Integration, Entrepreneurship, Robotics
Prof. Rakesh Kumar (Instructor)

rakeshk@illinois.edu
Prof. Michael Oelze (Instructor)
ECEB 2056
oelze@illinois.edu
Biomedical Imaging, Acoustics, Nondestructive Testing
Prof. Jonathon Schuh (Instructor)
4066 ECEB
schuh4@illinois.edu
Computational Physics, Electromechanics, Fluid Mechanics, Energy Storage, Tribology
Prof. Casey Smith (Instructor)
2044 ECE Building
cjsmith0@illinois.edu
Prof. Gary Swenson (Instructor)
ECEB 5064
swenson1@illinois.edu
Atmospheric remote sensing, lidar, optical remote sensing, imaging, signal processing, atmospheric science
Sowji Akshintala (TA)

akshint2@illinois.edu
Computer Vision, Power Systems
Dean Biskup (TA)

dbiskup2@illinois.edu
Computer Vision, Robotics, Embedded Systems
Peiyi Chen (TA)

peiyic2@illinois.edu
Yifan Chen (TA)

yifanc3@illinois.edu
Computer Vision, Signal Processing
Aneesh Jonelagadda (TA)

aneeshj2@illinois.edu
Sophie Liu (TA)

yiqiaol3@illinois.edu
Dhruv Mathur (TA)

dmathur2@illinois.edu
Controls, Robotics, Decision Making/Planning
Shaoyu Meng (TA)

smeng9@illinois.edu
robotics, firmware, entrepreneurship
David Null (TA)

null2@illinois.edu
Robotics, Computer Vision, Navigation, Coordinated Systems, Control Systems.
AJ Schroeder (TA)
Zoom Room
ajschro2@illinois.edu
RF/Microwave circuits, electromagnetics, communications, optical devices, information theory
William Zhang (TA)

yichi2@illinois.edu
False Tolerance & Reliable Systems, Computer Architecture, System Engineering

Other Important People

Name Office Phone Email Area
Scott McDonald 1049 ECE Building samcdona@illinois.edu Machine Shop
Mark Smart 1041 ECE Building mwsmart@illinois.edu Electronics Services Shop
Casey Smith 3064 ECE Building cjsmith0@illinois.edu Instructional Lab Coordinator
Waltham Smith 1041 ECE Building wlsmith@illinois.edu Electronic Services Shop
Skot Wiedmann 1041 ECE Building swiedma2@illinois.edu Electronic Services Shop

Filtered Back – Projection Optical Demonstration

Tori Fujinami, Xingchen Hong, Jacob Ramsey

Filtered Back – Projection Optical Demonstration

Featured Project

Project Description

Computed Tomography, often referred to as CT or CAT scans, is a modern technology used for medical imaging. While many people know of this technology, not many people understand how it works. The concepts behind CT scans are theoretical and often hard to visualize. Professor Carney has indicated that a small-scale device for demonstrational purposes will help students gain a more concrete understanding of the technical components behind this device. Using light rather than x-rays, we will design and build a simplified CT device for use as an educational tool.

Design Methodology

We will build a device with three components: a light source, a screen, and a stand to hold the object. After placing an object on the stand and starting the scan, the device will record three projections by rotating either the camera and screen or object. Using the three projections in tandem with an algorithm developed with a graduate student, our device will create a 3D reconstruction of the object.

Hardware

• Motors to rotate camera and screen or object

• Grid of photo sensors built into screen

• Light source

• Power source for each of these components

• Control system for timing between movement, light on, and sensor readings