People

TA Office Hours

Held weekly in the senior design lab (ECEB 2070/2072). NOTE: There are no office hours during the weeks of board reviews or final demos. FIRST Week of class office hours will be held over zoom: LINK

Chat Room

Ask technical questions here:

Spring 2022 Instructors

Name Area
Prof. Arne Fliflet (Instructor)
3056
afliflet@illinois.edu
microwave generation and applications
Prof. Rakesh Kumar (Instructor)

rakeshk@illinois.edu
Prof. Michael Oelze (Instructor)
ECEB 2056
oelze@illinois.edu
Biomedical Imaging, Acoustics, Nondestructive Testing
Prof. Jonathon Schuh (Instructor)
4066 ECEB
schuh4@illinois.edu
Computational Physics, Electromechanics, Fluid Mechanics, Energy Storage, Tribology
Prof. Victoria Shao (Instructor)

yangshao@illinois.edu
Prof. Pengfei Song (Instructor)
Beckman 4041
songp@illinois.edu
Biomedical Imaging, biomedical devices, image and signal processing, ultrasound
Daniel Ahn (TA)

dka3@illinois.edu
Circuits, signals, and nanotechnology.
Pooja Bhagchandani (TA)

pkb2@illinois.edu
Fullstack Developer
Dean Biskup (TA)

dbiskup2@illinois.edu
Resource-Constrained Hardware, Machine Learning
Jeff Chang (TA)

kcchang3@illinois.edu
DSP/Deep Learning
Shivang Charan (TA)

scharan2@illinois.edu
App development, social good, smart devices, fitness
Stasiu Chyczewski (TA)

stasiuc2@illinois.edu
Magnetic materials/devices, 2D materials, applied E&M, wireless power
Amr Ghoname (TA)

ghoname2@illinois.edu
Photonics, Microsystems, Electromagnetics
uma Lath (TA)

ulath2@illinois.edu
Data Science and Machine Learning
Qingyu Li (TA)

qingyul2@illinois.edu
Parallel processing/Parallel Computing/Distributed System
David Null (TA)

null2@illinois.edu
Robotics, Computer Vision, Navigation, Coordinated Systems, Control Systems.
Hojoon Ryu (TA)

hojoonr2@illinois.edu
Akshatkumar Sanatbhai Sanghvi (TA)

sanghvi8@illinois.edu
Data Science and Machine Learning
Hanyin Shao (TA)

hanyins2@illinois.edu
Natural language processing/Machine learning
Evan Widloski (TA)

evanw3@illinois.edu
Signal processing, Linux, Python, IoT, power electronics
Jamie Xu (TA)

chengx2@illinois.edu
robotics, control, machine learning

Other Important People

Name Office Phone Email Area
Scott McDonald 1049 ECE Building samcdona@illinois.edu Machine Shop
Mark Smart 1041 ECE Building mwsmart@illinois.edu Electronics Services Shop
Casey Smith 3064 ECE Building cjsmith0@illinois.edu Instructional Lab Coordinator
Waltham Smith 1041 ECE Building wlsmith@illinois.edu Electronic Services Shop
Skot Wiedmann 1041 ECE Building swiedma2@illinois.edu Electronic Services Shop

S.I.P. (Smart Irrigation Project)

Jackson Lenz, James McMahon

S.I.P. (Smart Irrigation Project)

Featured Project

Jackson Lenz

James McMahon

Our project is to be a reliable, robust, and intelligent irrigation controller for use in areas where reliable weather prediction, water supply, and power supply are not found.

Upon completion of the project, our device will be able to determine the moisture level of the soil, the water level in a water tank, and the temperature, humidity, insolation, and barometric pressure of the environment. It will perform some processing on the observed environmental factors to determine if rain can be expected soon, Comparing this knowledge to the dampness of the soil and the amount of water in reserves will either trigger a command to begin irrigation or maintain a command to not irrigate the fields. This device will allow farmers to make much more efficient use of precious water and also avoid dehydrating crops to death.

In developing nations, power is also of concern because it is not as readily available as power here in the United States. For that reason, our device will incorporate several amp-hours of energy storage in the form of rechargeable, maintenance-free, lead acid batteries. These batteries will charge while power is available from the grid and discharge when power is no longer available. This will allow for uninterrupted control of irrigation. When power is available from the grid, our device will be powered by the grid. At other times, the batteries will supply the required power.

The project is titled S.I.P. because it will reduce water wasted and will be very power efficient (by extremely conservative estimates, able to run for 70 hours without input from the grid), thus sipping on both power and water.

We welcome all questions and comments regarding our project in its current form.

Thank you all very much for you time and consideration!