People

TA Office Hours

Held weekly in the senior design lab (ECEB 2070/2072).
Name Time
Amr Martini Monday 10am-11am
Mengze Sha Monday 3:30pm-4:30pm
Evan Widloski Friday 12pm-1pm
David Null Wednesday 3pm-4pm
Kristina Miller Tuesday 4pm-5pm (Wednesday 11am-12pm on 9/18)
Jonathan Hoff Tuesday 11am-12pm
Enliang Li Monday 2pm-3pm
Shaoyu Meng Wednesday 4pm-5pm
Yangge Li Thursday 4pm-5pm
Christopher Horn Thursday 10am-11am

Spring 2020 Instructors

Name Area
Prof. Arne Fliflet (Instructor)
3056
afliflet@illinois.edu
microwave generation and applications
Prof. Wei He (Instructor)

weihe16@illinois.edu
Prof. Jing Jiang (Instructor)
ECEB 1022
jiang56@illinois.edu
Robotics, Bio-sensing, System Integration, Entrepreneurship
Prof. Joohyung Kim (Instructor)

joohyung@illinois.edu
Prof. Rakesh Kumar (Instructor)

rakeshk@illinois.edu
Prof. Michael Oelze (Instructor)
ECEB 2056
oelze@illinois.edu
Biomedical Imaging, Acoustics, Nondestructive Testing
Prof. Jonathon Schuh (Instructor)

schuh4@illinois.edu
Prof. Casey Smith (Instructor)
2044 ECE Building
cjsmith0@illinois.edu
Prof. Gary Swenson (Instructor)
ECEB 5064
swenson1@illinois.edu
Atmospheric remote sensing, lidar, optical remote sensing, imaging, signal processing, atmospheric science
Ruomu Hao (TA)

ruomuh2@illinois.edu
Madison Hedlund (TA)

hedlund3@illinois.edu
controls, system integration, and medical applications
Jonathan Hoff (TA)
CSL 160
jehoff2@illinois.edu
Robotics, Dynamics & Controls, Sensing & Estimation, Machine learning
Dhruv Mathur (TA)

dmathur2@illinois.edu
Shaoyu Meng (TA)

smeng9@illinois.edu
robotics, firmware, entrepreneurship
David Null (TA)

null2@illinois.edu
Robotics, Computer Vision, Navigation, Coordinated Systems, Control Systems.
Vassily Petrov (TA)

vassily2@illinois.edu
Megan Roller (TA)

roller2@illinois.edu
Robotics and Controls
Charles Ross (TA)

cr26@illinois.edu
Evan Widloski (TA)
CSL127
evanw3@illinois.edu
linux, signal processing, robotics, power electronics
Chi Zhang (TA)

czhng110@illinois.edu

Other Important People

Name Office Phone Email Area
Scott McDonald 1049 ECE Building samcdona@illinois.edu Machine Shop
Mark Smart 1041 ECE Building mwsmart@illinois.edu Electronics Services Shop
Casey Smith 3064 ECE Building cjsmith0@illinois.edu Instructional Lab Coordinator
Waltham Smith 1041 ECE Building wlsmith@illinois.edu Electronic Services Shop
Skot Wiedmann 1041 ECE Building swiedma2@illinois.edu Electronic Services Shop

Environmental Sensing for Firefighters

Andri Teneqexhi, Lauren White, Hyun Yi

Environmental Sensing for Firefighters

Featured Project

Hyun Yi, Lauren White, and Andri Teneqexhi earned the Instructor's Award in the Fall of 2013 for their work on the Environmental Sensing for Firefighters.

"Engineering is all about solving real life problems and using the solutions to improve the lives of others. ECE 445 allows you to actually delve deeper into what this really means by providing students the chance to undergo the engineering design process. This requires taking all of the theoretical knowledge, lab experiences, and ultimately, everything that you have ever learned in life, and applying it to your project. Though, there is structure to the course and deadlines in place to measure your team's progress, the actual design, implementation, and success of your project is all determined by you. Unlike any other course that I have taken, I've gained an appreciation for the utilization and benefits of external resources, unforeseen scheduling delays, delegating tasks, and most importantly, teamwork. I consider ECE 445 to be a crash course into real life engineering and a guide to become a successful engineer." -- Lauren White