People

TA Office Hours

Held weekly in the senior design lab (ECEB 2070/2072).
Name Time
Nick Ratajczyk Monday 2pm-3pm
Hershel Rege Tuesday 2pm-3pm
Kexin Hui Tuesday 3pm-4pm
Soumithri Bala Wednesday 12pm-1pm
Tony Caton Wednesday 1pm-2pm
Zhen Qin Thursday 1pm-2pm
Amr Martini Thursday 4pm-5pm
Dongwei Shi Friday 12pm-1pm
Evan Widloski Friday 1pm-2pm
Channing Philbrick Friday 2pm-3pm

Fall 2018 Instructors

Name Area
Prof. Xiaogang Chen (Instructor)

oxgchen@illinois.edu
Prof. Arne Fliflet (Instructor)
3056
afliflet@illinois.edu
microwave generation and applications
Prof. Kiruba Haran (Instructor)

kharan@illinois.edu
Prof. Wei He (Instructor)

weihe16@illinois.edu
Prof. Rakesh Kumar (Instructor)

rakeshk@illinois.edu
Prof. Michael Oelze (Instructor)
ECEB 2056
oelze@illinois.edu
Biomedical Imaging, Acoustics, Nondestructive Testing
Prof. Gary Swenson (Instructor)
ECEB 5064
swenson1@illinois.edu
Atmospheric remote sensing, lidar, optical remote sensing, imaging, signal processing, atmospheric science
Soumithri Bala (TA)

bala4@illinois.edu
Anthony Caton (TA)
5068 ECEB
caton2@illinois.edu
Remote Sensing, Lidar, Optics, Upper Atmospheric Research/Space Science
Kexin Hui (TA)

khui3@illinois.edu
Computer Vision, Machine Learning
Amr Martini (TA)

ammartn3@illinois.edu
Computer Vision, Acceleration, Algorithms, Optics, Video Processing
Channing Philbrick (TA)

phlbrck2@illinois.edu
Atmospheric Remote Sensing, Image Processing, CubeSat design, Systems Engineering
Zhen Qin (TA)

zhenqin3@illinois.edu
Audio, Signal Processing, Machine Learning, Power Circuits
Nicholas Ratajczyk (TA)

ratajcz2@illinois.edu
RF Circuits, Antennas, Communication, and Remote Sensing
Hershel Rege (TA)

davereg2@illinois.edu
Embedded Systems, Computer Architecture, Big Data
Dongwei Shi (TA)

dshi9@illinois.edu
Computer Vision, Parallel Computing, Robotics
Evan Widloski (TA)
CSL127
evanw3@illinois.edu
linux, signal processing, robotics, power electronics

Other Important People

Name Office Phone Email Area
Scott McDonald 1049 ECE Building samcdona@illinois.edu Machine Shop
Mark Smart 1041 ECE Building mwsmart@illinois.edu Electronics Services Shop
Casey Smith 3064 ECE Building cjsmith0@illinois.edu Instructional Lab Coordinator
Waltham Smith 1041 ECE Building wlsmith@illinois.edu Electronic Services Shop
Skot Wiedmann 1041 ECE Building swiedma2@illinois.edu Electronic Services Shop

Pocket Pedal - A Bluetooth Controlled Effects Box

Kaan Erel, Alexander Van Dorn, Jacob Waterman

Pocket Pedal - A Bluetooth Controlled Effects Box

Featured Project

Our idea is to make an inexpensive alternative to traditional pedal powered guitar effects boxes. Essentially, we hope to implement a single aftermarket effects box that can be remote controlled via a mobile app. This low-power, Bluetooth connected application can control the box to change effects on the go. The hardware within the effects box will be able to alter the guitar's signals to create different sounds like echoing, looping, and distortion effects (and possibly more). These effects will be implemented using analog circuits that we will design and construct to be controlled by an app on your phone.

This project eliminates the expensive buy-in for a guitarist hoping to sound like any number of famous musicians with multiple effects pedals. On top of this, it also aims to get rid of the clutter that comes with the numerous pedals and boxes connected to an amplifier. Many pedals today don't even have a visual interface to select effects through some sort of menu. The app will also provide a much more handy and portable visual representation of the possible effects all from the phone in your pocket!

Team:

Jacob Waterman jwaterm2

Kaan Erel erel2

Alex Van Dorn vandorn2