People

TA Office Hours

Held weekly in the senior design lab (ECEB 2070/2072).
Name Time
Channing Philbrick Monday 1pm-2pm
Tony Caton Monday 2pm-3pm
Christopher Horn Monday 3pm-4pm
Amr Martini Tuesday 1pm-2pm
Mengze Sha Tuesday 2pm-3pm
Kyle Michal Wednesday 11am-12pm
Soumithri Bala Wednesday 12pm-1pm
Dongwei Shi Wednesday 1pm-2pm
John Kan Wednesday 3pm-4pm
Thomas Furlong Thursday 10am-11am
Hershel Rege Thursday 2pm-3pm
David Null Thursday 3pm-4pm
Zhen Qin Friday 12pm-1pm
David Hanley Friday 1pm-2pm
Nick Ratajczyk Friday 2pm-3pm

Summer 2019 Instructors

Name Area
Prof. Arne Fliflet (Instructor)
3056
afliflet@illinois.edu
microwave generation and applications
Prof. Jing Jiang (Instructor)
EnterpriseWorks 107
jiang56@illinois.edu
Robotics, Sensing, System Integration, Entrepreneurship
Prof. Rakesh Kumar (Instructor)

rakeshk@illinois.edu
Prof. Michael Oelze (Instructor)
ECEB 2056
oelze@illinois.edu
Biomedical Imaging, Acoustics, Nondestructive Testing
Prof. Casey Smith (Instructor)
2044 ECE Building
cjsmith0@illinois.edu
Prof. Gary Swenson (Instructor)
ECEB 5064
swenson1@illinois.edu
Atmospheric remote sensing, lidar, optical remote sensing, imaging, signal processing, atmospheric science
Soumithri Bala (TA)

bala4@illinois.edu
Anthony Caton (TA)
5068 ECEB
caton2@illinois.edu
Remote Sensing, Lidar, Optics, Upper Atmospheric Research/Space Science
Thomas Furlong (TA)

tfurlon2@illinois.edu
David Hanley (TA)
CSL 139
hanley6@illinois.edu
Controls and Robotics
Christopher Horn (TA)

chorn4@illinois.edu
Microcontrollers, computer security, low power embedded systems
John Kan (TA)

johnkan2@illinois.edu
Amr Martini (TA)

ammartn3@illinois.edu
Computer Vision, Acceleration, Machine Learning, Optics, Video Processing
Kyle Michal (TA)

michal2@illinois.edu
David Null (TA)

null2@illinois.edu
Robotics, Computer Vision, Navigation, Coordinated Systems, Control Systems.
Channing Philbrick (TA)
5029 ECEB
phlbrck2@illinois.edu
Atmospheric Remote Sensing, Image Processing, CubeSat design, Systems Engineering
Zhen Qin (TA)

zhenqin3@illinois.edu
Audio, Signal Processing, Machine Learning, Power Circuits
Nicholas Ratajczyk (TA)

ratajcz2@illinois.edu
RF Circuits, Antennas, Communication, and Remote Sensing
Hershel Rege (TA)

davereg2@illinois.edu
Embedded Systems, Wearables
Mengze Sha (TA)

msha2@illinois.edu
RF circuit and system
Dongwei Shi (TA)

dshi9@illinois.edu
Computer Vision, Parallel Computing, Robotics

Other Important People

Name Office Phone Email Area
Scott McDonald 1049 ECE Building samcdona@illinois.edu Machine Shop
Mark Smart 1041 ECE Building mwsmart@illinois.edu Electronics Services Shop
Casey Smith 3064 ECE Building cjsmith0@illinois.edu Instructional Lab Coordinator
Waltham Smith 1041 ECE Building wlsmith@illinois.edu Electronic Services Shop
Skot Wiedmann 1041 ECE Building swiedma2@illinois.edu Electronic Services Shop

Environmental Sensing for Firefighters

Andri Teneqexhi, Lauren White, Hyun Yi

Environmental Sensing for Firefighters

Featured Project

Hyun Yi, Lauren White, and Andri Teneqexhi earned the Instructor's Award in the Fall of 2013 for their work on the Environmental Sensing for Firefighters.

"Engineering is all about solving real life problems and using the solutions to improve the lives of others. ECE 445 allows you to actually delve deeper into what this really means by providing students the chance to undergo the engineering design process. This requires taking all of the theoretical knowledge, lab experiences, and ultimately, everything that you have ever learned in life, and applying it to your project. Though, there is structure to the course and deadlines in place to measure your team's progress, the actual design, implementation, and success of your project is all determined by you. Unlike any other course that I have taken, I've gained an appreciation for the utilization and benefits of external resources, unforeseen scheduling delays, delegating tasks, and most importantly, teamwork. I consider ECE 445 to be a crash course into real life engineering and a guide to become a successful engineer." -- Lauren White