People

TA Office Hours

Held weekly in the senior design lab (ECEB 2070/2072).
Name Time
Zipeng "Bird" Wang Monday 11am-12pm
Kexin Hui Monday 2pm-3pm
Eric Clark Monday 3pm-4pm
Vignesh Sridhar Tuesday 11am-12pm
Jackson Lenz Tuesday 2pm-3pm
Michael Fatina Tuesday 3pm-4pm
Dongwei Shi Wednesday 10am-11am
Yuchen He Wednesday 11am-12pm
Jacob Bryan Wednesday 2pm-3pm
Luke Wendt Wednesday 3pm-4pm
John Capozzo Thursday 10am-11am
Jose Sanchez Vicarte Thursday 11am-12pm
Daniel Frei Thursday 3:15pm-4:15pm
James Norton Friday 10am-11am
Sam Sagan Friday 11am-12pm
Daniel Gardner Friday 2pm-3pm

Summer 2017 Instructors

Name Area
Prof. Scott Carney (Instructor)
4061 Beckman
carney@illinois.edu
physics, optics, human potential, leveraging synergies of our core competencies, visioning new verbs
Prof. Arne Fliflet (Instructor)
3056
afliflet@illinois.edu
microwave generation and applications
Prof. Seth Hutchinson (Instructor)

seth@illinois.edu
Prof. Michael Oelze (Instructor)
ECEB 2056
oelze@illinois.edu
Biomedical Imaging, Acoustics, Nondestructive Testing
Prof. Karl Reinhard (Instructor)

reinhrd2@illinois.edu
Jacob Bryan (TA)
3038 ECEB
jdbryan2@illinois.edu
Speech signal processing, DSP, control systems, machine learning, optimization
John Capozzo (TA)
1538 Beckman
capozzo2@illinois.edu
I specialize in Infomation Communication systems and pipelines. Proficient in: Time Series Analysis, HPC, Machine Learning, Exploratory Data Analysis, Data Reliability & Reproducibility, Statistics, Modeling Biological Data
Eric Clark (TA)

ejclark2@illinois.edu
Computer Architecture, IC Design, FPGA, Embedded Systems, Distributed Systems and Networks
Michael Fatina (TA)

fatina2@illinois.edu
embedded systems, microcontrollers, robotics, PCB design, EMG
Daniel Frei (TA)

dfrei2@illinois.edu
Security, Networks
Daniel Gardner (TA)

dgardne2@illinois.edu
RF, wireless communications, circuits, PCB design, embedded systems
Yuchen He (TA)
ECEB 3038
he33@illinois.edu
Robotics, Machine Learning, Computer Vision, Natural Language Processing, Control Systems
Kexin Hui (TA)

khui3@illinois.edu
Digital/Analog IC Design
Jackson Lenz (TA)

jdlenz2@illinois.edu
Electric Machines/Drives, Power Electronics, Batteries
James Norton (TA)
139 Coordinated Science Laboratory
jnorton4@illinois.edu
Physiological Monitoring (EEG, EMG, etc.), Digital Signal Processing, Cognitive Neuroscience
Sam Sagan (TA)
425 CSL
ssagan2@illinois.edu
Electrostatic Discharge, RF, Machine Learning, Audio, Embedded Systems, Electromechanical Systems
Jose Sanchez Vicarte (TA)
ECE3038
josers2@illinois.edu
Computer Architecture, Machine Learning, Embedded Systems, Linux
Dongwei Shi (TA)

dshi9@illinois.edu
Computer Vision, Parallel Computing, Robotics
Vignesh Sridhar (TA)

vsridha2@illinois.edu
Sensor Fusion, Virtual Reality, Economic Forecasting
Zipeng Wang (TA)
206H Talbot
zwang87@illinois.edu
Atmospheric Remote Sensing, CubeSat, Analog Computing, Evolving Hardware, Satellite Attitude Determination and Control.
Luke Wendt (TA)

wendt1@illinois.edu
[http://luke-a-wendt.info] Adaptive Control, Robotics, Computer Vision, Machine Learning, Optimization

Other Important People

Name Office Phone Email Area
Scott McDonald 1049 ECE Building samcdona@illinois.edu Machine Shop
Mark Smart 1041 ECE Building mwsmart@illinois.edu Electronics Services Shop
Casey Smith 3064 ECE Building cjsmith0@illinois.edu Instructional Lab Coordinator
Waltham Smith 1041 ECE Building wlsmith@illinois.edu Electronic Services Shop
Skot Wiedmann 1041 ECE Building swiedma2@illinois.edu Electronic Services Shop
Prof. Scott Carney 4061 Beckman Institute carney@illinois.edu Course Director

Cypress Robot Kit

Todd Nguyen, Byung Joo Park, Alvin Wu

Cypress Robot Kit

Featured Project

Cypress is looking to develop a robotic kit with the purpose of interesting the maker community in the PSOC and its potential. We will be developing a shield that will attach to a PSoC board that will interface to our motors and sensors. To make the shield, we will design our own PCB that will mount on the PSoC directly. The end product will be a remote controlled rover-like robot (through bluetooth) with sensors to achieve line following and obstacle avoidance.

The modules that we will implement:

- Motor Control: H-bridge and PWM control

- Bluetooth Control: Serial communication with PSoC BLE Module, and phone application

- Line Following System: IR sensors

- Obstacle Avoidance System: Ultrasonic sensor

Cypress wishes to use as many off-the-shelf products as possible in order to achieve a “kit-able” design for hobbyists. Building the robot will be a plug-and-play experience so that users can focus on exploring the capabilities of the PSoC.

Our robot will offer three modes which can be toggled through the app: a line following mode, an obstacle-avoiding mode, and a manual-control mode. In the manual-control mode, one will be able to control the motors with the app. In autonomous modes, the robot will be controlled based off of the input from the sensors.