People

TA Office Hours

Held weekly in the senior design lab (ECEB 2070/2072).
Name Time
Amr Martini Monday 10am-11am
Mengze Sha Monday 4pm-5pm
Evan Widloski Friday 11am-12pm
David Null Wednesday 3pm-4pm
Kristina Miller Tuesday 4pm-5pm (Wednesday 11am-12pm on 9/18)
Jonathan Hoff Tuesday 11am-12pm
Enliang Li Monday 2pm-3pm
Shaoyu Meng Wednesday 4pm-5pm
Yangge Li Thursday 4pm-5pm
Christopher Horn Thursday 10am-11am

Fall 2019 Instructors

Name Area
Prof. Arne Fliflet (Instructor)
3056
afliflet@illinois.edu
microwave generation and applications
Prof. Wei He (Instructor)

weihe16@illinois.edu
Prof. Jing Jiang (Instructor)
Everitt Lab 0250
jiang56@illinois.edu
Robotics, Bio-sensing, System Integration, Entrepreneurship
Prof. Rakesh Kumar (Instructor)

rakeshk@illinois.edu
Prof. Michael Oelze (Instructor)
ECEB 2056
oelze@illinois.edu
Biomedical Imaging, Acoustics, Nondestructive Testing
Prof. Casey Smith (Instructor)
2044 ECE Building
cjsmith0@illinois.edu
Prof. Gary Swenson (Instructor)
ECEB 5064
swenson1@illinois.edu
Atmospheric remote sensing, lidar, optical remote sensing, imaging, signal processing, atmospheric science
Jonathan Hoff (TA)
CSL 160
jehoff2@illinois.edu
Robotics, Dynamics & Controls, Sensing & Estimation, Machine learning
Christopher Horn (TA)

chorn4@illinois.edu
Microcontrollers, computer security, low power embedded systems
Jack Li (TA)
CSL 403
eli9@illinois.edu
Embedded System, Digital Signal Processing and Computer Vision, Aviation
Yangge Li (TA)

li213@illinois.edu
Control systems, Robotics, Embeded system.
Amr Martini (TA)

ammartn3@illinois.edu
Computer Vision, Acceleration, Machine Learning, Optics, Video Processing
Shaoyu Meng (TA)

smeng9@illinois.edu
robotics, firmware, entrepreneurship
Kristina Miller (TA)

kmmille2@illinois.edu
Controls systems, safe autonomy, robotics
David Null (TA)

null2@illinois.edu
Robotics, Computer Vision, Navigation, Coordinated Systems, Control Systems.
Mengze Sha (TA)

msha2@illinois.edu
RF engineering, IC and circuit design
Evan Widloski (TA)
CSL127
evanw3@illinois.edu
linux, signal processing, robotics, power electronics

Other Important People

Name Office Phone Email Area
Scott McDonald 1049 ECE Building samcdona@illinois.edu Machine Shop
Mark Smart 1041 ECE Building mwsmart@illinois.edu Electronics Services Shop
Casey Smith 3064 ECE Building cjsmith0@illinois.edu Instructional Lab Coordinator
Waltham Smith 1041 ECE Building wlsmith@illinois.edu Electronic Services Shop
Skot Wiedmann 1041 ECE Building swiedma2@illinois.edu Electronic Services Shop

Low Cost Myoelectric Prosthetic Hand

Michael Fatina, Jonathan Pan-Doh, Edward Wu

Low Cost Myoelectric Prosthetic Hand

Featured Project

According to the WHO, 80% of amputees are in developing nations, and less than 3% of that 80% have access to rehabilitative care. In a study by Heidi Witteveen, “the lack of sensory feedback was indicated as one of the major factors of prosthesis abandonment.” A low cost myoelectric prosthetic hand interfaced with a sensory substitution system returns functionality, increases the availability to amputees, and provides users with sensory feedback.

We will work with Aadeel Akhtar to develop a new iteration of his open source, low cost, myoelectric prosthetic hand. The current revision uses eight EMG channels, with sensors placed on the residual limb. A microcontroller communicates with an ADC, runs a classifier to determine the user’s type of grip, and controls motors in the hand achieving desired grips at predetermined velocities.

As requested by Aadeel, the socket and hand will operate independently using separate microcontrollers and interface with each other, providing modularity and customizability. The microcontroller in the socket will interface with the ADC and run the grip classifier, which will be expanded so finger velocities correspond to the amplitude of the user’s muscle activity. The hand microcontroller controls the motors and receives grip and velocity commands. Contact reflexes will be added via pressure sensors in fingertips, adjusting grip strength and velocity. The hand microcontroller will interface with existing sensory substitution systems using the pressure sensors. A PCB with a custom motor controller will fit inside the palm of the hand, and interface with the hand microcontroller.

Project Videos