People

Soldering Assignment Temporary Office Hours

TA Office Hours

Held weekly in the senior design lab (ECEB 2070/2072).

Fall 2021 Instructors

Name Area
Prof. Arne Fliflet (Instructor)
3056
afliflet@illinois.edu
microwave generation and applications
Prof. Wei He (Instructor)

weihe16@illinois.edu
Prof. Rakesh Kumar (Instructor)

rakeshk@illinois.edu
Prof. Michael Oelze (Instructor)
ECEB 2056
oelze@illinois.edu
Biomedical Imaging, Acoustics, Nondestructive Testing
Prof. Jonathon Schuh (Instructor)
4066 ECEB
schuh4@illinois.edu
Computational Physics, Electromechanics, Fluid Mechanics, Energy Storage, Tribology
Dean Biskup (TA)

dbiskup2@illinois.edu
Computer Vision, Robotics, Embedded Systems
Stasiu Chyczewski (TA)

stasiuc2@illinois.edu
Magnetic materials/devices, 2D materials, applied E&M, wireless power
Bonhyun Ku (TA)

bonhyun2@illinois.edu
power electronics, robotics
Josephine Melia (TA)

jmelia2@illinois.edu
integrated photonics, optomechanics
David Null (TA)

null2@illinois.edu
Robotics, Computer Vision, Navigation, Coordinated Systems, Control Systems.
Evan Widloski (TA)

evanw3@illinois.edu
Linux, Python, IoT, power electronics
Feiyu Zhang (TA)

feiyuz2@illinois.edu
William Zhang (TA)

yichi2@illinois.edu
False Tolerance & Reliable Systems, Computer Architecture, System Engineering

Other Important People

Name Office Phone Email Area
Scott McDonald 1049 ECE Building samcdona@illinois.edu Machine Shop
Mark Smart 1041 ECE Building mwsmart@illinois.edu Electronics Services Shop
Casey Smith 3064 ECE Building cjsmith0@illinois.edu Instructional Lab Coordinator
Waltham Smith 1041 ECE Building wlsmith@illinois.edu Electronic Services Shop
Skot Wiedmann 1041 ECE Building swiedma2@illinois.edu Electronic Services Shop

Bone Conduction Lock

Alexander Lee, Brandon Powers, Ramon Zarate

Featured Project

A lock that is unlocked using vibrations conducted through the bones in the user’s hand. The user wears a wristband containing a haptic motor. The haptic motor generates a vibration signal that acts as the "key" to the lock. When the user touches their finger to the lock, the signal is transmitted through the user’s hand and is received at the lock. If the lock receives the correct "key", then it unlocks.

Project Videos