People

TA Office Hours

Held weekly in the senior design lab (ECEB 2070/2072).
Name Time
Madison Hedlund Monday 11am-12pm
Yichi Zhang Monday 12pm-1pm
Stephanie Jaster Monday 1pm-2pm
Vassily Petrov Monday 3pm-4pm
Jing Jiang Monday 3pm-4pm (ECEB 2013)
Ruhao Xia Tuesday 10am-11am
Ruomu Hao Tuesday 11am-12pm
Shuai Tang Tuesday 12pm-1pm
Dhruv Mathur Tuesday 2pm-3pm
David Null Wednesday 1pm-2pm
Chi Zhang Wednesday 3pm-4pm
Megan Roller Thursday 1pm-2pm
Johan Mufuta Thursday 2pm-3pm
Shaoyu Meng Thursday 3pm-4pm
Charles Ross Friday 10am-11am
Evan Widloski Friday 12pm-1pm
Jon Hoff Friday 2pm-3pm
Eric Liang Friday 4pm-5pm

Spring 2020 Instructors

Name Area
Prof. Arne Fliflet (Instructor)
3056
afliflet@illinois.edu
microwave generation and applications
Prof. Wei He (Instructor)

weihe16@illinois.edu
Prof. Jing Jiang (Instructor)
ECEB 1022
jiang56@illinois.edu
Bio-sensing, System Integration, Entrepreneurship, Robotics
Prof. Jianming Jin (Instructor)

j-jin1@illinois.edu
Prof. Joohyung Kim (Instructor)

joohyung@illinois.edu
Prof. Philip Krein (Instructor)
4050 ECEB (Urbana); C216 Bldg 1 (Haining)
krein@illinois.edu
Power electronics, power, motors, drives
Prof. Rakesh Kumar (Instructor)

rakeshk@illinois.edu
Prof. Michael Oelze (Instructor)
ECEB 2056
oelze@illinois.edu
Biomedical Imaging, Acoustics, Nondestructive Testing
Prof. Jonathon Schuh (Instructor)

schuh4@illinois.edu
Prof. Casey Smith (Instructor)
2044 ECE Building
cjsmith0@illinois.edu
Prof. Gary Swenson (Instructor)
ECEB 5064
swenson1@illinois.edu
Atmospheric remote sensing, lidar, optical remote sensing, imaging, signal processing, atmospheric science
Ruomu Hao (TA)

ruomuh2@illinois.edu
Madison Hedlund (TA)

hedlund3@illinois.edu
controls, system integration, and medical applications
Jonathan Hoff (TA)
CSL 160
jehoff2@illinois.edu
Robotics, Dynamics & Controls, Sensing & Estimation, Machine learning
Stephanie Jaster (TA)

sjaster2@illinois.edu
Semiconductor device fabrication, nanotechnology, and photonics.
Weihang Liang (TA)

weihang2@illinois.edu
Dhruv Mathur (TA)

dmathur2@illinois.edu
Controls, Robotics, Decision Making/Planning
Shaoyu Meng (TA)

smeng9@illinois.edu
robotics, firmware, entrepreneurship
Johan Mufuta (TA)

jmufuta2@illinois.edu
Software Engineering, Computer Vision, microcontrollers
David Null (TA)

null2@illinois.edu
Robotics, Computer Vision, Navigation, Coordinated Systems, Control Systems.
Vassily Petrov (TA)

vassily2@illinois.edu
Megan Roller (TA)

roller2@illinois.edu
Robotics and Controls
Charles Ross (TA)

cr26@illinois.edu
Shuai Tang (TA)

stang30@illinois.edu
Computer Vision, Cloud Computing, Construction Management, Safety Management, Structural Engineering
Evan Widloski (TA)
CSL127
evanw3@illinois.edu
linux, signal processing, robotics, power electronics
Ruhao Xia (TA)

rxia4@illinois.edu
Chi Zhang (TA)

czhng110@illinois.edu
William Zhang (TA)

yichi2@illinois.edu

Other Important People

Name Office Phone Email Area
Scott McDonald 1049 ECE Building samcdona@illinois.edu Machine Shop
Mark Smart 1041 ECE Building mwsmart@illinois.edu Electronics Services Shop
Casey Smith 3064 ECE Building cjsmith0@illinois.edu Instructional Lab Coordinator
Waltham Smith 1041 ECE Building wlsmith@illinois.edu Electronic Services Shop
Skot Wiedmann 1041 ECE Building swiedma2@illinois.edu Electronic Services Shop

Low Cost Distributed Battery Management System

Logan Rosenmayer, Daksh Saraf

Low Cost Distributed Battery Management System

Featured Project

Web Board Link: https://courses.engr.illinois.edu/ece445/pace/view-topic.asp?id=27207

Block Diagram: https://imgur.com/GIzjG8R

Members: Logan Rosenmayer (Rosenma2), Anthony Chemaly(chemaly2)

The goal of this project is to design a low cost BMS (Battery Management System) system that is flexible and modular. The BMS must ensure safe operation of lithium ion batteries by protecting the batteries from: Over temperature, overcharge, overdischarge, and overcurrent all at the cell level. Additionally, the should provide cell balancing to maintain overall pack capacity. Last a BMS should be track SOC(state of charge) and SOH (state of health) of the overall pack.

To meet these goals, we plan to integrate a MCU into each module that will handle measurements and report to the module below it. This allows for reconfiguration of battery’s, module replacements. Currently major companies that offer stackable BMSs don’t offer single cell modularity, require software adjustments and require sense wires to be ran back to the centralized IC. Our proposed solution will be able to remain in the same price range as other centralized solutions by utilizing mass produced general purpose microcontrollers and opto-isolators. This project carries a mix of hardware and software challenges. The software side will consist of communication protocol design, interrupt/sleep cycles, and power management. Hardware will consist of communication level shifting, MCU selection, battery voltage and current monitoring circuits, DC/DC converter all with low power draws and cost. (uAs and ~$2.50 without mounting)