People

TA Office Hours

Held weekly in the senior design lab (ECEB 2070/2072).
Name Time
Tony Caton Monday 2pm-3pm
Christopher Horn Monday 3pm-4pm
Amr Martini Tuesday 1pm-2pm
Mengze Sha Tuesday 2pm-3pm
Kyle Michal Wednesday 11am-12pm
Soumithri Bala Wednesday 12pm-1pm
Dongwei Shi Wednesday 1pm-2pm
John Kan Wednesday 3pm-4pm
Thomas Furlong Thursday 10am-11am
Channing Philbrick Thursday 1pm-2pm
Hershel Rege Thursday 2pm-3pm
David Null Thursday 3pm-4pm
Zhen Qin Friday 12pm-1pm
David Hanley Friday 1pm-2pm
Nick Ratajczyk Friday 2pm-3pm

Spring 2019 Instructors

Name Area
Prof. Xiaogang Chen (Instructor)

oxgchen@illinois.edu
Prof. Arne Fliflet (Instructor)
3056
afliflet@illinois.edu
microwave generation and applications
Prof. Jing Jiang (Instructor)

jiang56@illinois.edu
Prof. Rakesh Kumar (Instructor)

rakeshk@illinois.edu
Prof. Michael Oelze (Instructor)
ECEB 2056
oelze@illinois.edu
Biomedical Imaging, Acoustics, Nondestructive Testing
Prof. Casey Smith (Instructor)
3064 ECE Building
cjsmith0@illinois.edu
Prof. Gary Swenson (Instructor)
ECEB 5064
swenson1@illinois.edu
Atmospheric remote sensing, lidar, optical remote sensing, imaging, signal processing, atmospheric science
Soumithri Bala (TA)

bala4@illinois.edu
Anthony Caton (TA)
5068 ECEB
caton2@illinois.edu
Remote Sensing, Lidar, Optics, Upper Atmospheric Research/Space Science
Thomas Furlong (TA)

tfurlon2@illinois.edu
David Hanley (TA)
CSL 139
hanley6@illinois.edu
Controls and Robotics
Christopher Horn (TA)

chorn4@illinois.edu
Microcontrollers, computer security, low power embedded systems
John Kan (TA)

johnkan2@illinois.edu
Amr Martini (TA)

ammartn3@illinois.edu
Computer Vision, Acceleration, Algorithms, Optics, Video Processing
Kyle Michal (TA)

michal2@illinois.edu
David Null (TA)

null2@illinois.edu
Robotics, Computer Vision, Navigation, Coordinated Systems, Control Systems.
Channing Philbrick (TA)
5029 ECEB
phlbrck2@illinois.edu
Atmospheric Remote Sensing, Image Processing, CubeSat design, Systems Engineering
Zhen Qin (TA)

zhenqin3@illinois.edu
Audio, Signal Processing, Machine Learning, Power Circuits
Nicholas Ratajczyk (TA)

ratajcz2@illinois.edu
RF Circuits, Antennas, Communication, and Remote Sensing
Hershel Rege (TA)

davereg2@illinois.edu
Embedded Systems, Computer Architecture, Big Data
Mengze Sha (TA)

msha2@illinois.edu
RF circuit and system
Dongwei Shi (TA)

dshi9@illinois.edu
Computer Vision, Parallel Computing, Robotics

Other Important People

Name Office Phone Email Area
Scott McDonald 1049 ECE Building samcdona@illinois.edu Machine Shop
Mark Smart 1041 ECE Building mwsmart@illinois.edu Electronics Services Shop
Casey Smith 3064 ECE Building cjsmith0@illinois.edu Instructional Lab Coordinator
Waltham Smith 1041 ECE Building wlsmith@illinois.edu Electronic Services Shop
Skot Wiedmann 1041 ECE Building swiedma2@illinois.edu Electronic Services Shop

Pocket Pedal - A Bluetooth Controlled Effects Box

Kaan Erel, Alexander Van Dorn, Jacob Waterman

Pocket Pedal - A Bluetooth Controlled Effects Box

Featured Project

Our idea is to make an inexpensive alternative to traditional pedal powered guitar effects boxes. Essentially, we hope to implement a single aftermarket effects box that can be remote controlled via a mobile app. This low-power, Bluetooth connected application can control the box to change effects on the go. The hardware within the effects box will be able to alter the guitar's signals to create different sounds like echoing, looping, and distortion effects (and possibly more). These effects will be implemented using analog circuits that we will design and construct to be controlled by an app on your phone.

This project eliminates the expensive buy-in for a guitarist hoping to sound like any number of famous musicians with multiple effects pedals. On top of this, it also aims to get rid of the clutter that comes with the numerous pedals and boxes connected to an amplifier. Many pedals today don't even have a visual interface to select effects through some sort of menu. The app will also provide a much more handy and portable visual representation of the possible effects all from the phone in your pocket!

Team:

Jacob Waterman jwaterm2

Kaan Erel erel2

Alex Van Dorn vandorn2