People

TA Office Hours

Held weekly in the senior design lab (ECEB 2070/2072).
Name Time
Jacob Bryan Monday 11am-12pm
Rebecca Chen Monday 2pm-3pm
John Capozzo Tuesday 11am-12pm
Zhen Qin Tuesday 2pm-3pm
Michael Genovese Wednesday 11am-12pm
Xinrui Zhu Wednesday 2pm-3pm
Yuchen He Thursday 11am-12pm
Zipeng "Bird" Wang Thursday 1pm-2pm
Kexin Hui Thursday 2pm-3pm
Channing Philbrick Friday 11am-12pm
Yamuna Phal Friday 1pm-2pm
Dongwei Shi Friday 2pm-3pm

Fall 2017 Instructors

Name Area
Prof. Can Bayram (Instructor)

cbayram@illinois.edu
Prof. Xiaogang Chen (Instructor)

oxgchen@illinois.edu
Prof. Arne Fliflet (Instructor)
3056
afliflet@illinois.edu
microwave generation and applications
Prof. Rakesh Kumar (Instructor)

rakeshk@illinois.edu
Prof. Michael Oelze (Instructor)
ECEB 2056
oelze@illinois.edu
Biomedical Imaging, Acoustics, Nondestructive Testing
Prof. Karl Reinhard (Instructor)

reinhrd2@illinois.edu
Jacob Bryan (TA)
3038 ECEB
jdbryan2@illinois.edu
Speech signal processing, DSP, control systems, machine learning, optimization
John Capozzo (TA)
Research Park
capozzo2@illinois.edu
I specialize in Information Communication systems. Proficient in: Time Series Analysis, HPC, Machine Learning, Exploratory Data Analysis, Data Reliability & Reproducibility, Statistics, Modeling Biological Data
Rebecca Chen (TA)

rebecca9@illinois.edu
Image Processing, Digital Signal Processing, Biomedical Engineering
Michael Genovese (TA)

genoves2@illinois.edu
Yuchen He (TA)
ECEB 3038
he33@illinois.edu
Robotics, Machine Learning, Computer Vision, Natural Language Processing, Control Systems
Kexin Hui (TA)

khui3@illinois.edu
Computer Vision, Machine Learning
Yamuna Phal (TA)
5065
yphal2@illinois.edu
Remote Sensing & Space Sciences, Analog/RF circuit design, Instrumentation
Channing Philbrick (TA)
ECEB 5068
phlbrck2@illinois.edu
Atmospheric Remote Sensing, Image Processing, CubeSat design, Systems Engineering
Zhen Qin (TA)

zhenqin3@illinois.edu
Audio, Signal Processing, Machine Learning, Power Circuits
Dongwei Shi (TA)

dshi9@illinois.edu
Computer Vision, Parallel Computing, Robotics
Zipeng Wang (TA)
206H Talbot
zwang87@illinois.edu
Atmospheric Remote Sensing, CubeSat, Analog Computing, Evolving Hardware, Satellite Attitude Determination and Control.
Xinrui Zhu (TA)

xzhu40@illinois.edu

Other Important People

Name Office Phone Email Area
Scott McDonald 1049 ECE Building samcdona@illinois.edu Machine Shop
Mark Smart 1041 ECE Building mwsmart@illinois.edu Electronics Services Shop
Casey Smith 3064 ECE Building cjsmith0@illinois.edu Instructional Lab Coordinator
Waltham Smith 1041 ECE Building wlsmith@illinois.edu Electronic Services Shop
Skot Wiedmann 1041 ECE Building swiedma2@illinois.edu Electronic Services Shop
Prof. Scott Carney 4061 Beckman Institute carney@illinois.edu Course Director

Cypress Robot Kit

Todd Nguyen, Byung Joo Park, Alvin Wu

Cypress Robot Kit

Featured Project

Cypress is looking to develop a robotic kit with the purpose of interesting the maker community in the PSOC and its potential. We will be developing a shield that will attach to a PSoC board that will interface to our motors and sensors. To make the shield, we will design our own PCB that will mount on the PSoC directly. The end product will be a remote controlled rover-like robot (through bluetooth) with sensors to achieve line following and obstacle avoidance.

The modules that we will implement:

- Motor Control: H-bridge and PWM control

- Bluetooth Control: Serial communication with PSoC BLE Module, and phone application

- Line Following System: IR sensors

- Obstacle Avoidance System: Ultrasonic sensor

Cypress wishes to use as many off-the-shelf products as possible in order to achieve a “kit-able” design for hobbyists. Building the robot will be a plug-and-play experience so that users can focus on exploring the capabilities of the PSoC.

Our robot will offer three modes which can be toggled through the app: a line following mode, an obstacle-avoiding mode, and a manual-control mode. In the manual-control mode, one will be able to control the motors with the app. In autonomous modes, the robot will be controlled based off of the input from the sensors.