People

TA Office Hours

Held weekly in the senior design lab (ECEB 2070/2072).
Name Time
Xinrui Zhu Monday 12pm-1pm
Nick Ratajczyk Monday 2pm-3pm
Mickey Zhang Monday 3pm-4pm
Dongwei Shi Tuesday 1pm-2pm
Jacob Bryan Tuesday 2pm-3pm
Zipeng "Bird" Wang Wednesday 12pm-1pm
Tony Caton Wednesday 2pm-3pm
Bryce Smith Wednesday 3pm-4pm
Yuchen He Thursday 12pm-1pm
Kexin Hui Thursday 2pm-3pm
Zhen Qin Thursday 3pm-4pm
Channing Philbrick Friday 12pm-1pm
Hershel Dave-Rege Friday 1pm-2pm
Yamuna Phal Friday 2pm-3pm

Summer 2018 Instructors

Name Area
Prof. Kiruba Haran (Instructor)

kharan@illinois.edu
Prof. Michael Oelze (Instructor)
ECEB 2056
oelze@illinois.edu
Biomedical Imaging, Acoustics, Nondestructive Testing
Prof. Gary Swenson (Instructor)
ECEB 5064
swenson1@illinois.edu
Atmospheric remote sensing, lidar, optical remote sensing, imaging, signal processing, atmospheric science
Jacob Bryan (TA)
3038 ECEB
jdbryan2@illinois.edu
Speech signal processing, DSP, control systems, machine learning, optimization
Anthony Caton (TA)
5068 ECEB
caton2@illinois.edu
Remote Sensing, Lidar, Optics, Upper Atmospheric Research/Space Science
Yuchen He TA (TA)
ECEB 3038
he33@illinois.edu
Robotics, Machine Learning, Computer Vision, Natural Language Processing, Control Systems
Kexin Hui (TA)

khui3@illinois.edu
Computer Vision, Machine Learning
Yamuna Phal (TA)
5065
yphal2@illinois.edu
Remote Sensing & Space Sciences, Analog/RF circuit design, Instrumentation
Channing Philbrick (TA)
ECEB 5068
phlbrck2@illinois.edu
Atmospheric Remote Sensing, Image Processing, CubeSat design, Systems Engineering
Zhen Qin (TA)

zhenqin3@illinois.edu
Audio, Signal Processing, Machine Learning, Power Circuits
Nicholas Ratajczyk (TA)

ratajcz2@illinois.edu
RF Circuits, Communication, and Remote Sensing
Hershel Rege (TA)

davereg2@illinois.edu
Secure Computing Systems, Computer Architecture, Big Data
Dongwei Shi (TA)

dshi9@illinois.edu
Computer Vision, Parallel Computing, Robotics
Bryce Smith (TA)

bsmith53@illinois.edu
Power Systems, Semiconductor Devices, Renewable Energy Sources
Zipeng Wang (TA)
206H Talbot
zwang87@illinois.edu
Atmospheric Remote Sensing, CubeSat, Analog Computing, Evolving Hardware, Satellite Attitude Determination and Control.
Mickey Zhang (TA)

rzhang56@illinois.edu
Embedded Systems, Data processing, Software engineering, ML
Xinrui Zhu (TA)

xzhu40@illinois.edu

Other Important People

Name Office Phone Email Area
Scott McDonald 1049 ECE Building samcdona@illinois.edu Machine Shop
Mark Smart 1041 ECE Building mwsmart@illinois.edu Electronics Services Shop
Casey Smith 3064 ECE Building cjsmith0@illinois.edu Instructional Lab Coordinator
Waltham Smith 1041 ECE Building wlsmith@illinois.edu Electronic Services Shop
Skot Wiedmann 1041 ECE Building swiedma2@illinois.edu Electronic Services Shop

Drum Tutor Lite

Zhen Qin, Yuanheng Yan, Xun Yu

Drum Tutor Lite

Featured Project

Team: Yuanheng Yan, Zhen Qin, Xun Yu

Vision: Rhythm games such as guitar hero are much easier than playing the actual drums. We want to make a drum tutor that makes playing drums as easy as guitar hero. The player is not required to read a sheet music.

Description: We will build a drum add-on that will tutor people how to play the drums. We will make a panel for visual queue of the drum and beats in a form similar to guitar hero game. The panel can be a N*10 (N varying with the drum kit) led bar array. Each horizontal bar will be a beat and each horizontal line above the bottom line will represent the upcoming beats.

There will be sensors on each drum that will fire when the drum heads is hit. The drums will be affixed with ring of light that provides the timing and accuracy of the player according to the sensors.

Of course with a flip of a switch, the drum could be a simple light up drum: when the player hits the drum, that particular drum will light up giving cool effects.

The system will be on a microprocessor. Or for more versatile uses, it could be connected to the computer. And a app will be written for the tutor.

Project Videos