Special and General Relativity, and an Introduction to Mathematical Methods in Physics


Physics 225, Spring 2018

Lecture (50 minutes): Loomis 151, Tuesdays at 4 pm

Discussion sections (110 minutes): Thursdays at 9 am, 11 am, 1 pm, 3 pm, 5 pm in Loomis 64; Fridays at 8 am, 10 am in Loomis 147.

2 credit hours

    Notable dates


  • • First lecture: Tuesday, January 16.
  • • First discussion sections: Thursday, January 18 and Friday, January 19.
  • • First homework due: 9:00 pm Tuesday, January 23.
  • • First midterm exam: in lecture, Tuesday, February 27. Coverage: weeks 1 - 5.
  • • Spring break: March 17 – 25.
  • • Second midterm exam: in lecture, Tuesday, April 10. Coverage: weeks 6 - 10.
  • • Last discussion sections: Thursday, April 26 and Friday, April 27.
  • • Last (formally scheduled) office hours: Tuesday, May 1.
  • • Last lecture: Tuesday, May 1.
  • • Reading day: Thursday, May 3.
  • • Final exam: Friday, May 11, 5:30 pm - 10:00 pm; room(s) TBA.

Homework due dates


Unit Due date (full credit) Late due date (50% credit) Comments
1
Tuesday, January 23
Tuesday, January 30
 
2
Tuesday, January 30
Tuesday, February 6
 
3
Tuesday, February 6
Tuesday, February 13
 
4
Tuesday, February 13
Tuesday, February 20
 
5
Tuesday, February 20
Thursday, March 1
 
6
Thursday, March 1
Tuesday, March 6
Exam 1
7
Tuesday, March 6
Tuesday, March 13
 
8
Tuesday, March 13
Tuesday, March 27
 
spring break
9
Tuesday, March 27
Tuesday, April 3
 
10
Tuesday, April 3
Thursday, April 12
 
11
Thursday, April 12
Tuesday, April 17
Exam 2
12
Tuesday, April 17
Tuesday, April 24
 
13
Tuesday, April 24
Tuesday, May 1
 
14
Tuesday, May 1
Tuesday, May 1
End of term



Simulating eXtreme Spacetimes [CC BY-SA 4.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/4.0)], via Wikimedia Commons


Unless otherwise noted, all material copyright George Gollin, University of Illinois, 2017.