Special and General Relativity, and an Introduction to Mathematical Methods in Physics


Physics 225, Spring 2018

Lecture (50 minutes): Loomis 151, Tuesdays at 4 pm

Discussion sections (110 minutes): Thursdays at 9 am, 11 am, 1 pm, 3 pm, 5 pm in Loomis 64; Fridays at 8 am, 10 am in Loomis 147.

2 credit hours


    Notable dates


  • • First lecture: Tuesday, January 16.
  • • First discussion sections: Thursday, January 18 and Friday, January 19.
  • • First homework due: 9:00 pm Tuesday, January 23.
  • • First midterm exam: in lecture, Tuesday, February 27. Coverage: weeks 1 - 5.
  • • Spring break: March 17 – 25.
  • • Second midterm exam: in lecture, Tuesday, April 10. Coverage: weeks 6 - 10.
  • • Last discussion sections: Thursday, April 26 and Friday, April 27.
  • • Last (formally scheduled) office hours: Tuesday, May 1.
  • • Last lecture: Tuesday, May 1.
  • • Reading day: Thursday, May 3.
  • • Final exam: Friday, May 11, 5:30 pm - 10:00 pm; room(s) TBA.

Homework due dates


Unit, lecture date Due date (full credit) Late due date (50% credit) Comments
1, 1/16
Tuesday, January 23
Tuesday, January 30
 
2, 1/23
Tuesday, January 30
Tuesday, February 6
 
3, 1/30
Tuesday, February 6
Tuesday, February 13
 
4, 2/6
Tuesday, February 13
Tuesday, February 20
 
5, 2/13
Tuesday, February 20
no late HW accepted
HW solutions posted February 21
6, 2/20
Thursday, March 1
Tuesday, March 6
 
7, 2/27
Tuesday, March 6
Tuesday, March 13
Exam 1 in lecture
8, 3/6
Tuesday, March 13
Tuesday, March 27
 
9, 3/13
Tuesday, March 27
Tuesday, April 3
 
spring break
10, 3/27
Tuesday, April 3
no late HW accepted
HW solutions posted April 4
11, 4/3
Thursday, April 12
Tuesday, April 17
 
12, 4/10
Tuesday, April 17
Tuesday, April 24
Exam 2 in lecture
13, 4/17
Tuesday, April 24
Tuesday, May 1
 
14, 4/24
Tuesday, May 1
no late HW accepted
HW solutions posted May 2
15, 5/1
optional lecture
 
Frame dragging!
final exam
Friday, May 11
 
rooms TBA



Simulating eXtreme Spacetimes [CC BY-SA 4.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/4.0)], via Wikimedia Commons


Unless otherwise noted, all material copyright George Gollin, University of Illinois, 2018.